This page is intended to help understand various uses, privacy settings, and overall concerns about Social Media. Included are links to "Tips for Parents", privacy policies, and brief privacy FAQ's.
We also recommend checking out Common Sense Media at commonsensemedia.org for many resources for parents and students.
Social Media Tips for Parents
- How does privacy work?
We have adopted a follower model that means if you're "public" on Instagram, anyone can subscribe to follow your photos. We do, however, have a special private option. In this mode, a user can make sure he/she must approve all follow requests before they go through.
- Who can see my photos?
All photos are public by default which means they are visible to anyone using Instagram or on the instagram.com website. If you choose to make your account private, then only people who follow you on Instagram will be able to see your photos.
- Updating Privacy Settings (default is public)
- Privacy and Safety Tips
- When I post something, how do I choose who can see it?
You'll find an audience selector tool most places you share status updates, photos and other things you post. Click the tool and select who you want to share something with.
The tool remembers the audience you shared with the last time you posted something and uses the same audience when you share again unless you change it. For example, if you choose Public for a post, your next post will also be Public unless you change the audience when you post. This one tool appears in multiple places, such as your privacy shortcuts and privacy settings. When you make a change to the audience selector tool in one place, the change updates the tool everywhere it appears.
The audience selector also appears alongside things you've already shared, so it's clear who can see each post. After you've shared a post, you have the option to change who it's shared with. If you want to change the audience of a post after you've shared it, click the audience selector and select a new audience.
Remember, when you post to another person's Timeline, that person controls what audience can view the post. Additionally, anyone who gets tagged in a post may see it, along with their friends.
- Rights and Responsibilities
- Playing it Safe
- Help Center (Safety/Security)
- Quick Reminders for Using Ask.fm
In short, to ensure the best experience possible while on Ask.fm, please always keep the following in mind:
Take advantage of our privacy settings to manage who can see what you post and block unwanted attention.
If you see or are subject to offensive or abusive content – speak up! We need our user community to help us identify and remove this kind of behavior. Please use the reporting features to make us aware of any such content straight away so we can take appropriate action, such as sending a warning to the user or suspending the user’s account.
The choice to be anonymous on Ask.fm is up to you. Please take time to learn and understand the tools and features on Ask.fm so you can have the best experience possible. Remember, you do not have to send or receive anonymous questions to connect, engage and have fun with your friends on Ask.fm.
- Safety Tools
- Think before you Tweet
You are in control of how much information you share on Twitter or any other website. Don’t post information you consider to be private (like a credit card number or home address), and be thoughtful about when you want to publicly share your location.
Be wary of any communication that asks for your private contact information, personal information, or passwords. Think about how much information you provide in your Tweets and ask yourself the following questions
- Who am I sharing this information with?
- How much and what type of information am I sharing?
- How many people can see the information I am sharing?
- Can I trust all the people that see this information?